Thread: PROBLEM MOUNTING MAG 120GB AFTER NEW UPDATE

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 PROBLEM MOUNTING MAG 120GB AFTER NEW UPDATE 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    346
    Hi guys, something strange happened...after the new update to the last firmware, I have problem to mount my 120SSD Mag.
    It has always be secured formatted in camera (never on my Imac) and never had problems until now.
    I have to mount a lot of times before it works, and after I offload the files in my Imac it does again, and I have to try several times!!!
    Any idea! Is it a bug???
    Thanks
    Attached Images
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    675
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Audy Erel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Jakarta-Bandung, Indonesia (Bali)
    Posts
    123
    I've had this problem too, occasionally. Although very rare, the 120GB MiniMag was unable to mount after offloading data onto MacBook Pro. The weird thing is even if you set the RED WatchDog to "Read Only" the MiniMag is still writable (and I found some hidden folders from the Mac system), I think this is maybe related to how the Mac ejects the drive.
    SCARLET-W #004760
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    9,647
    A few things.

    - If you install a new firmware on your camera it's usually a good idea to run a "Secure Format" once you get the card to mount.
    - Do not manually delete files off the card, I could say the same for copying things to the card that aren't LUTs, Looks, CDLs, Firmware etc.
    - Only Format RED Media in camera. This is the only way you should be deleting clips off the card.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    RED Weapon 8K VV Dragon "Orochi"
    RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro "Skully"

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    346
    Yes guys never did on Mac always in camera. The weird thing is that happened after offloading clips in my Imac. I had to insert the mag severla times before it worked. Is an intermittent problem...hope will be fixed!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    82
    I encountered this problem 2 weeks ago with a 980GB card. The card failed to mount several times over the course of three days. It was an intermittent problem, and did not seem to affect the slightly older 1TB card I was also using. I did switch to using secure format, and while that seemed to help it didn't completely eliminate the problem. I am on an older version of the firmware - from before August.

    _________________
    Mark George
    Director, Writer


    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts