Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Nothing but problems on set of a Music video.

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 87
  1. #21  
    Moderator Gunleik Groven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11,474
    Lu

    In case that s the uíssue, just edit your original post...
    Life is good. So is RED...

    http://blog.gunleik.com

    Dragon short: "Sweet..." https://vimeo.com/74358938

    Current Indiegogo Campaign: #godtnorsk:
    https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/godtnorsk/x/541483
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Senior Member Harry Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,666
    I interpreted it as him testing out a Red-branded start/stop cable that's not yet a "real" product (or that the cable, like everyone else's was a custom job, and he made up the part about it being a Red product)
    Either way, I don't think he meant to say the entire post was made up.
    BigLu, I feel for you man. Under the gun is no way to go through a job.
    Just FYI, my remote start/stop (capably made by Pana-Tech) worked flawlessly on Build 13. In 15, it (very) occasionally either does not work or puts the camera in BURST (yes I know which one to plug it in) It's so rare I hesitated to post a complaint, but perhaps this problem persists in 16.
    Cheers,
    Harry
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3.   This is the last RED TEAM post in this thread.   #23 Gpio 
    Red Team Stuart English's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Irvine, Ca
    Posts
    3,643
    Just to make sure we understand the nature of any issues ...

    The function of the upper and lower GPIO ports are programmable in the PREFERENCES menu. As default the upper connector is RECORD start / stop, the lower is Timelapse (labeled as BURST) record start / next frame record.
    Workflow Wizard
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member Joe D'Arcy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Gold Coast Queensland Australia
    Posts
    668
    BigLu -Next time use the 'Cone of silence' when discussing top secret information.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi View Post
    BigLu -Next time use the 'Cone of silence' when discussing top secret information.
    Maybe he was, he was just not pushing down the button hard enough :)
    Fredrik Callinggard (formerly known as weirdcrew)

    http://www.uitchiscratch.com

    fc@aeoncine.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Digital FX Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4,181
    seems like someone failed to prep his gear before his shoot....a critical oversight.
    Who was your AC, and why didnt he test the gear before it went out?

    This should go in the "I DIDNT PREP AND PLUGGED IN A FUCKED UP CABLE" or the "DONT USE THIS RENTAL HOUSE" threads...not the "COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT" thread.

    digitalfx.tv

    The RGBlog- Ramblings about Cameras, VFX, etc.
    Twitter

    Red One #83
    Epic-M #98 and #240
    Epic-X #83 and #116
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member Stephen Williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    4,011
    Quote Originally Posted by Zakaree View Post
    got the email of death
    Hi Zakaree,

    I often get them after posting too!:matrix:

    Stephen
    Epic Dragon owner, the first upgraded camera in Switzerland :D
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Casey Green's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,001
    Sorry to hear your trouble, but I have to agree that using build 16 (beta) on a Pro shoot was a poor choice.

    If the Camera was provided by the rental house this way, then they are partly to blame... but you have been in this community for a while, and it surprises me that you would not be aware that build 15 is the release build.

    Sounds like perhaps the Cameras were issued to you with 16, but that this was not checked ahead of time.

    As far as the remote start / stop goes, all accessories (especially ones that deal with power or I/O connections) should be tested well ahead of time.

    Again, sorry to hear about your problems during the shoot, but unfortunately for you, I think most of it could have been avoided. If we can help you prep in the future, please feel free to ask, and I'm sure everyone here would be happy to give advice.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Senior Member Brent J. Craig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,779
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart English View Post
    Just to make sure we understand the nature of any issues ...

    The function of the upper and lower GPIO ports are programmable in the PREFERENCES menu. As default the upper connector is RECORD start / stop, the lower is Timelapse (labeled as BURST) record start / next frame record.
    In other words, one of the MAJOR issues in Big Lu's post was caused by operator error.

    When you plug something into the wrong port and it causes unexpected behavior, I wouldn't call it the camera's fault.

    The 50 foot on off remote I built works perfectly (when plugged into the correct port.)

    Beta build on what sounds like a huge shoot? Inexcusable! What should have been a beta report instead was presented as "your camera ruined our shoot"! Not cool.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Senior Member Jens Jakob Thorsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    523
    Quote Originally Posted by Zakaree View Post
    got the email of death
    Please elaborate!!!!

    best JJ
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts