Thread: Epic-W SDI issues

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1 Epic-W SDI issues 
    Senior Member Domenic Barbero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Seattle/Portland/LA
    Posts
    1,895
    Was on a shoot today with my Epic-w and was noticing that when I powered down the camera, if I turned it back on with the bnc connected, it wouldnt send an image out to monitor. I had to turn camera off, unplug, power up, then replug in. Anyone else having that issue? I should also state this was out of the vlock I/O module
    Last edited by Domenic Barbero; 10-31-2016 at 05:11 PM.
    DP/Director/Producer
    www.domenicthedp.com
    www.nw-camera.com

    Arri Alexa Mini/Amira
    RED Epic-X Dragon
    RED Scarlet W
    Canon C300 Mark i/ii
    Ursa Mini Pro
    Sony A7s/r ii
    Cooke Panchro/i Classics
    Atlas Orion Anamorphic set
    Angenieux EZ1/2
    Celere HS PL lens set 25,36,50,85
    Leica R, 19,24,35,50,80,135 duclos
    DSO Trump series 38,58,88
    Sigma Cine Primes 20,24,35,50,85
    Contax Zeiss 25,35,50,85,100,180,300 superspeeds
    GL Optics 18-35, 50-100, 70-200
    tokina 11-16 PL
    Cooke 18-100
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Had the same issue running out to a Teradek Bolt, everytime camera was powered down I'd have to remember to turn the Bolt off before I powered down and unplug SDI before powering up again. Eventually found a simpler solution:

    Go into the monitor settings, select HDSDI, turn it off and on, seems to reboot the SDI out.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Domenic Barbero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Seattle/Portland/LA
    Posts
    1,895
    that is a bit easier of a fix. Ill have to try that one. Hopefully it gets addressed in a firmware
    DP/Director/Producer
    www.domenicthedp.com
    www.nw-camera.com

    Arri Alexa Mini/Amira
    RED Epic-X Dragon
    RED Scarlet W
    Canon C300 Mark i/ii
    Ursa Mini Pro
    Sony A7s/r ii
    Cooke Panchro/i Classics
    Atlas Orion Anamorphic set
    Angenieux EZ1/2
    Celere HS PL lens set 25,36,50,85
    Leica R, 19,24,35,50,80,135 duclos
    DSO Trump series 38,58,88
    Sigma Cine Primes 20,24,35,50,85
    Contax Zeiss 25,35,50,85,100,180,300 superspeeds
    GL Optics 18-35, 50-100, 70-200
    tokina 11-16 PL
    Cooke 18-100
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Aaron Lochert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    975
    Just wrapped a shoot this weekend and was experiencing the same issue with a Teradek Bolt and SmallHD 502. Somewhat relieved to see that it seems to be a firmware bug and not an issue with the port.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    75
    The same problem going straight to a monitor and with a IDX Camwave

    Seems to be firmware
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    279
    I had that same issue on the shoot with the first IPP2 beta firmware and went to the menu to re-init the SDI port. I upgraded to the latest IPP2 beta and it seems like the issue has been resolved.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Same here, and actually have a support ticket out for it. Strangely, another way to get it back to life is to simply open Foolcontrol on the nearest iDevice. Once it connects to the camera (you get the main interface on the screen) the SDI port magically comes back to life.
    Carlino // wearecarlino.com
    I dangle things with lenses out of things with tail rotors.
    Epic-W #004102
    Arriflex 35-III 3-perf
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    766
    Ive had this issue With both my Raven and Epic-W, but With the HDMI Connector. I was using a Paralinx Arrow+, and I always have to unplug and replug the HDMI after turning the camera off
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Member Jordan Beard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    80
    Does anyone know if this issue has been fixed in recent firmware updates? I've noticed a similar problem with my Scarlet-W recently.
    Jordan Beard
    Canopy Films
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts