Thread: RED Rocket or GeForce 1070/1080?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 RED Rocket or GeForce 1070/1080? 
    Senior Member Zack Birlew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    California and Las Vegas
    Posts
    889
    Hey, guys, well I tried my hand at picking up a RED Rocket cheap to go with my new RED One MX and it didn't work right so I sent it in and got a quote for a $1,000 replacement. Well, I could just try getting this brand new one on an auction site for half of that but I had also been wondering if it were just as worthwhile and maybe even a better investment to get a much less sensitive GeForce 1070 or 1080 GPU or maybe two. With GPU acceleration in RED software these days, would this make up the difference for RED transcoding and playback compared to trying to get a RED Rocket?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Derek Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    364
    what's your comp specs? the processor has a lot to do with decoding the actual r3d compression and then the gpu debayer's it into an RGB image. the Rocket does both for you. If you don't have the CPU to decompress the data, the gpu won't be more beneficial over the rocket.
    Post Production Supervisor
    DIT
    Colorist
    dmorrison91@me.com

    Quantum Arc Media
    IMDB

    Scarlet-Dragon 5611 "Centurion"
    RED One M 1948 "The Peacemaker"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Zack Birlew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    California and Las Vegas
    Posts
    889
    Depending on which of our workstations it's going into, it'll either be dual six core Xeons or dual eight core Xeons with 48Gb-96GB of RAM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    10,000 Lakes
    Posts
    1,151
    Interesting, how much does RAM and drive speed take into consideration vs gpu?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Derek Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    364
    You'll definitely be able to work on 4-5k footage with a 1070 or 1080. I'm working on an 8-core AMD with a 1070. I get realtime 4-4.5K on RC36/42 with only 30-40% gpu on a 1070.

    Also couldn't help but notice Zach, you're in Vegas?
    Post Production Supervisor
    DIT
    Colorist
    dmorrison91@me.com

    Quantum Arc Media
    IMDB

    Scarlet-Dragon 5611 "Centurion"
    RED One M 1948 "The Peacemaker"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Zack Birlew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    California and Las Vegas
    Posts
    889
    Cool info guys, thanks! As for drive speed, I'd love to have a RAID of several SSD's but it's too pricey at this point, we'll be working off of a ProAvio 8TB RAID that we might upgrade to 2TB drives for 16TB total but we'll have to see when we get there on our upcoming feature. As for RAM, since I've started getting into heavy After Effects and 3D VFX work, I'm all about maxing it out as much as possible and going for workstations that support more than 32GB of RAM.

    Also, yes, Derek, I am in Las Vegas, it's my second home and where I prefer to be at, except in the summer when it's scorching hot! :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Derek Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    364
    Zack, sent you a DM.
    Post Production Supervisor
    DIT
    Colorist
    dmorrison91@me.com

    Quantum Arc Media
    IMDB

    Scarlet-Dragon 5611 "Centurion"
    RED One M 1948 "The Peacemaker"
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts