Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Red Weapon CF Forged powering down spontaneously

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1 Red Weapon CF Forged powering down spontaneously 
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    33
    My brand new forged cf weapon just started shutting off spontaneously over the last two days. Full Red Bricks and no warning indications regarding power issues. I called Red and tech support asked what I was powering with the camera. I told them I have my weapon evf, the 4.7" and a teradek cube (running off the d-tap on the v-lock I/O module). I was told that the camera has trouble powering anything more than the evf and the lcd..... Does anyone else think that a new 60$ camera not being able to power additional low draw accessories like a cube is completely absurd? Why is there a d-tap port on the I/O module?

    The problem persisted and we lost time and shots. I shoot for a living and I'm really struggling here. This is the 2nd weapon Red has shipped me. The operating system on the 1st weapon crashed, rendering the camera unusable.

    If anyone else is experiencing similar problems, please speak up. I don't think it's fair to have to settle, and deal with defects like this.

    I really want want to stick with Red. Shopping for an Alexa makes me nervous but I can't have this happen again.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2.   This is the last RED TEAM post in this thread.   #2  
    RED TEAM Brad Harris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    RED HQ - Irvine, CA
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Liepe View Post
    My brand new forged cf weapon just started shutting off spontaneously over the last two days. Full Red Bricks and no warning indications regarding power issues. I called Red and tech support asked what I was powering with the camera. I told them I have my weapon evf, the 4.7" and a teradek cube (running off the d-tap on the v-lock I/O module). I was told that the camera has trouble powering anything more than the evf and the lcd..... Does anyone else think that a new 60$ camera not being able to power additional low draw accessories like a cube is completely absurd? Why is there a d-tap port on the I/O module?

    The problem persisted and we lost time and shots. I shoot for a living and I'm really struggling here. This is the 2nd weapon Red has shipped me. The operating system on the 1st weapon crashed, rendering the camera unusable.

    If anyone else is experiencing similar problems, please speak up. I don't think it's fair to have to settle, and deal with defects like this.

    I really want want to stick with Red. Shopping for an Alexa makes me nervous but I can't have this happen again.
    Hi Brian,

    I’m sorry to see that you’re having issues with your WEAPON.

    The Technical Support team at RED would like to help you resolve this issue. Please submit a Technical Support request on support.red.com and attach the log file from this camera as suggested in your call this morning. We will forward the log file information to our Engineers for further analysis.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    33
    Thank you Brad. I appreciate the quick reply. I will create a support ticket just as soon as I can.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Matthew J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Southeast US
    Posts
    742
    You sure it's not your batteries? I just found out that a certain brand of battery doesn't like my current v-mount plate and when they get very lightly knocked, they lose connection on the v-mount plate and the camera shuts off. It very well may be that and not the camera itself.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Steve Sherrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    7,094
    I recently had something interesting happen with my R1 where I was getting intermittent shutdowns. I figured it must be the battery plate because the camera would remain powered when using AC power. Maybe a bad Lemo connector. But then I tried multiple battery plates and all of a sudden I couldn't even power up at all. AC power still worked but none of the battery plates would work any more. Was perplexed. Tried another battery, same thing. Then tried a third battery, and it worked. Some more testing and I determined it was the two batteries. Even though they show full charge, they are not powering up the camera and were probably responsible for the intermittent behavior from before. I think perhaps there is something going on with the contacts. I had these all gold plated by Switronix a few years ago as I had had other issues with RED brick's standard contacts.

    So, it's not out of the realm of possibility that you have some battery issues. In my case, I would have guessed lemo connector before the batteries so I was surprised.

    Now, as far as the other camera and the on board software, sorry to hear you have had issues with both cameras. RED will get you sorted.
    Steve Sherrick
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member ignition's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    226
    We've had many accessories running off PTap plates with the camera without issues, but in rare cases where there has been I work backwards from the easiest swap out points and sometimes it can be a battery or even poor PTap cables (or Lemo if you're running that config but sounds like you're DSMC2 cable less). Current draw & distribution can be severely impacted by a simple cable and it's definitely worth ruling those things out before considering an issue with the brain itself.
    Cheers,

    Darren Vukasinovic | Ignition Pictures
    Melbourne, Victoria - Australia
    RED Weapon 6K CF Dragon #00702 "Ripley"
    RT Mk 3.1 Motion Wireless FF, Bolt Pro 2000 Wireless TX/RX + Bolt Sidekick, Bright Tangerine Strummer DNA MB
    Camera Equipment Hire, Crew & Production Support, Dragon Aerial Cinematography
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    33
    Thank you everyone for your input. I am running cableless and all Red Products - no 3rd party plates or batteries. The only item made by another manufacturer is the Teradek cube.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    33
    Also, I'm on a plane now finishing up a data transfer and I double, triple checked my simultaneous recording settings for ProRes AND .R3Ds - The ProRes is nowhere to be found. I can definitely see this as a user error. Any insights?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Sherrick View Post
    I recently had something interesting happen with my R1 where I was getting intermittent shutdowns. I figured it must be the battery plate because the camera would remain powered when using AC power. Maybe a bad Lemo connector. But then I tried multiple battery plates and all of a sudden I couldn't even power up at all. AC power still worked but none of the battery plates would work any more. Was perplexed. Tried another battery, same thing. Then tried a third battery, and it worked. Some more testing and I determined it was the two batteries. Even though they show full charge, they are not powering up the camera and were probably responsible for the intermittent behavior from before. I think perhaps there is something going on with the contacts. I had these all gold plated by Switronix a few years ago as I had had other issues with RED brick's standard contacts.

    So, it's not out of the realm of possibility that you have some battery issues. In my case, I would have guessed lemo connector before the batteries so I was surprised.

    Now, as far as the other camera and the on board software, sorry to hear you have had issues with both cameras. RED will get you sorted.

    When using ronin we somtimes power camera from a V lock sitting on the back of the armorman. Then when the camera ac by mistake plugged the dtap cable going from the battery plate to camera straight into the battery d tap and not the battery plate our weapon behaved very odd as it was not getting enough power out of that port on our blueshape graphites.

    Simply the camera worked but shut down unexpectedly and had issues with the gui not showing the histogram and other quirks. Also playback did not work.

    So to me this very much sounds like battery issues especially if there where problems with two cameras after each other.

    So I would:
    First test with different battery.
    then look if it runs with no issues using a ac adapter.
    Then if it still has issues check the connectors of your power module possibly greaze them with conector fluid. try with different moduel, base i/o or such. and then if it still does not run properly you might have a brain issue.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se/axis
    VFX / Flame / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,828
    We've also noticed that not all batteries are made the same, and are considering a jump to Blueshape.
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts