Thread: RR not recognised by Mac Pro

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1 RR not recognised by Mac Pro 
    Hi, does anyone have any info on this issue?
    I purchased a used Rocket from eBay and tried it in our 2 Mac Pros (2006 1.1 and 2008 3.1) installing the drivers exactly as the instructions suggest (install, shut down, wait, wait, wait, then power up and install firmware) The card does not show up in either machine, the fan spins up and the two red lights come on but other than that there's no sign of the Rocket in the system report, redcine/player or red code pref panel. The drivers install fine but the firmware update fails as it can't find the Rocket.

    The seller showed me evidence of it working in his 2010 Mac Pro without any problems. So I then tried the card in a PC and it worked perfectly, it showed up straight away after the driver install and the firmware upgrade went without a hitch. Hoping this would fix the problem, I put it back into the Mac Pro with no luck. I have tried putting it in slot 1 & slot 2 (both 16x slots) and I have tried the jumper 8 reset trick which didn't work either.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,122
    Ben what OS are you running with the Mac Pro's?

    Do you have access to any newer MPs and possibly a Thunderbolt enclosure.

    Just wondering if you can test the card first.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Santiago View Post
    Ben what OS are you running with the Mac Pro's?

    Do you have access to any newer MPs and possibly a Thunderbolt enclosure.

    Just wondering if you can test the card first.

    Hi, we are running 10.10.5 Yosemite, the sellers Mac Pro was running Mavericks as far as I'm aware. I have also tried it with a clean install of Mavericks but that didn't make any difference. We don't have access to a thunderbolt enclosure or any other Mac pro's. as for testing, i have seen the rocket working in the sellers Mac Pro plus it worked perfectly in my friends PC running Windows 8.

    The rocket is the only card which is not working in my Mac Pro, all other pcie cards work fine. My problem is that I can't identify the fault. The rocket works fine in other machines, the Mac Pro shows no problems but put the two together and something is going wrong :(
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,122
    I ran into this a few times with new and old Mac Pro's.

    Drove me nuts cause Ive installed the RR drivers enough times in my career to know what to do.

    I recall BOMB SQUAD had me remove all LIBRARY files to start fresh.

    ROCKET did not like the constant attempts without a super clean install.

    I know that you've probably reformatted a drive with a fresh OS install and yes Ive had to do that too.

    I blamed a specific ROCKET card for that.

    Not sure if was an older card but we had issues similar on one card and never on others.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Thanks for that, it's been driving me nuts too! Did you manage to get it working with a super clean install? I will give it a try tomorrow on a totally clean HDD and see if that makes a difference
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,122
    yes eventually which was brutal few days.

    then the Mac Pro went wonky and had to repeat it over again.

    of late we've been only using the ROCKET on the older Mac Pro's

    They are not required for the nMPs.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Thanks, it's really encouraging to hear that you got it working eventually. There's hope for me yet! Lol I will keep you posted with how I get on. Any other tips you can think of?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,122
    Keep an eye on the drivers and firmware.

    Maybe download another version.

    They can get corrupted somehow.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Will do thanks. after a clean install was the card and driver the very first thing you installed? Even before redcine X etc?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,122
    I always to RCX first then drivers.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts