Thread: Necessities for the most baseline RED One/RED One MX kit

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 Necessities for the most baseline RED One/RED One MX kit 
    Hello REDUser Peeps,

I am fairly new to the world of RED and need some help in finding out what I need to get started. I know there is a forum thread for this already, but I am strictly looking for the absolute basics at this point.
    I've shot some stuff on RED, via other DPs, but I can't stress enough how badly I want to ditch my DSLR and finally take a shot at the big leagues.

I've seen pretty good packages listed on eBay and Craigslist in the $3,000 - $4,500 range. However, when I read the list of gear they come with, I feel like some things are missing. I just don't know what because I don't know what I need vs. what are unnecessary accessories for a beginner.

Is it even feasible to build a ready to shoot kit for $3,000 - $4,000?

Here's what I have gathered when reading up in terms of what I need to start:

-RED Brain/Body (duh)
    -SSD or card reader attachment and compatible cards
    -Batteries and charging station
    -RED Pro Monitor
    -Lenses with proper mount and/or adapter
    -Cage and rail system

So, is there anything crucial that I am missing/not considering?
    Once again, just looking for basic shooting at this point. No need for fancy anamorphic adapters, REDmote, or upgrades.

Thank you for your time and hopefully I don't sound like too much of a n00b.

Hey Ian_I