Thread: Is it possible to retain raw .R3D all the way through FCP-X / Resolve round-trip?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Is it possible to retain raw .R3D all the way through FCP-X / Resolve round-trip? 
    Resolve newbie here, so maybe dumb question. I edited in FCP-X with .R3D files, exported XML into Resolve for grading and noise reduction with Neat Video OFX plugin. Now I want to send it back to FCP-X for further work, keeping the media as 5k .R3D files. To render out the grading and noise reduction in the Deliver page, I see no option for retaining the .R3D codec. What's the best approach here?
    Paul Kalbach

RED Weapon-Helium#4580, RedOne-MX #1693, RedOne-MX #10062

www.ArtichokePro.com
    www.RedZephyrCam.com

A raw file is not a viewable color image so it cannot be color-corrected until it has been converted into a color image.
    David Mullen, ASC
    Los Angeles
    http://www.davidmullenasc.com

What do you want to retain in RAW parameter ?

R

Resolve and Final Cut Pro X don't communicate in this way, though what you can explore is the Adobe Premiere Pro/SpeedGrade/Media Encoder pipeline as this work flow allows that.

Additionally, if you can manage final export through Resolve, just pushave your .R3Ds through it for finish.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles

2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon

But how can you "push out" a graded raw file that is still a raw file, except as metadata? A raw file is not a color image so by definition it can't be color-corrected and still be a raw file. You can color-correct a file converted to color, save those settings as metadata and conform the raw files to the EDL, but the raw files won't have correction baked into them. Raw is not something you master TO but FROM.
    David Mullen, ASC
    Los Angeles
    http://www.davidmullenasc.com