Thread: Smoking Kills

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. #21  
    Senior Member Patrick Grossien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,986
    Thank you, Ulf. I'll have to dig into this a little and see what I'll come up with..:)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    418
    Necro-ing this thread. What is the fastest sync speed for strobes on the Dragon?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Senior Member Dominik Muench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    2,206
    Hey Mark

    I believe you're pretty much stuck with 1/50, I only really tried it once with a Hensel flash system and at anything faster than that the flash didn't really show up properly.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Filmmaker & Cinematographer
    Epic-W "Lucy"
    http://www.blacksun-productions.com
    http://www.instagram.com/drdominikmuench
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member Ulf Krentz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    716
    Mark, works up to 1/75s for me, no idea why there is such an early limit. Faster than that you can still fire the flash via "strobe trigger" but it won't be in time for sync, not even a rolling shutter effect. Not sure, this might have been improved, I´m on a quite old FW.

    Cheers, Ulf
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member Dominik Muench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    2,206
    I had the same experience as Ulf. anything faster and the flash simply wont show up in the still frame, I'm sure its got something to do with the readout/ sampling rate of the chip.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Filmmaker & Cinematographer
    Epic-W "Lucy"
    http://www.blacksun-productions.com
    http://www.instagram.com/drdominikmuench
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    418
    That's really limiting for strobe work then. :( Unfortunate.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    418
    Wait...we are talking about using stills mode and the sync port on the side handle, right?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Dominik Muench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    2,206
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Kern View Post
    Wait...we are talking about using stills mode and the sync port on the side handle, right?
    thats how I tried it but either way I don't think it makes a difference. still same sensor sampling/ processing.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Filmmaker & Cinematographer
    Epic-W "Lucy"
    http://www.blacksun-productions.com
    http://www.instagram.com/drdominikmuench
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    I think your video could also be a great add for Broncolor.
    Last edited by Igor Freev; 09-19-2016 at 12:33 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts