Thread: Miraizon DNxHD/ProRes Codec for Windows

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72
  1. #1 Miraizon DNxHD/ProRes Codec for Windows 
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,080
    Anyone try this option?

    http://www.miraizon.com/products/codecsoverview.html

    Tempting to test for $50 USD.

    Window DNxHD/ProRes codec.
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Hmmmmm ... somebody needs to test this yesterday.
    Mark L. Pederson
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,080
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    6,298
    Thanks for that, Eric.
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member luigivaltulini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Switzerland- LUGANO
    Posts
    2,450
    very good .. I do not understand why Davinci Resolve does not see the codec ...
    Grading Suite Davinci Resolve, Rental RED Digital camera.
    MONSTRO 8k CF #831 "BLACK PEARL"
    SCARLET-W #45 "HEIDI " , EPIC-W GEMINI # "DAFNE".
    ARRI ALEXA EV , ALEXA MINI LF


    SITE
    www.cine5k.ch

    www.rsi.ch
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Olivier Madar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Asnieres (very near Paris)
    Posts
    575
    good info thanks !
    Epic dragon, scarlett, K5600, Dedolight
    Paris
    The frenchie doc
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Olivier Madar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Asnieres (very near Paris)
    Posts
    575
    I bought it and made a test :
    Easy to install, premiere CC can now export in QT ProRes proxy, LT, 422, and 444.
    I then tried to export a 4K 444 prores from the timeline in 4K 444 (and some little changes). The export start then crash after 1 hour or 2. I did it twice.

    So, I can not take any conclusion : is Premiere or AME or quicktime or codec crashing ?
    I don't know yet.

    Olivier.
    Epic dragon, scarlett, K5600, Dedolight
    Paris
    The frenchie doc
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,989
    I just purchased the codec. You can set it up and it works right out of Adobe Media Encoder CC and Redcine-X Pro. Just did a few export tests at 1080p and 2160p it appears to work as expected. Doing side by sides with FFMPEG now to make sure all is good. I've been using the FFMPEG/DPX/TIFF workflow forever on the PC side of things, so this is a bloody nice addition to my workflow.

    This is actually really nice for me as the most recent Dragon color science isn't implemented in 3rd party applications just yet, so now I have a good solution for the time being on current jobs.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Some rather cool news coming tomorrow re: ProRes :)
    Mark L. Pederson
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,989
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark L. Pederson View Post
    Some rather cool news coming tomorrow re: ProRes :)
    Wait. I just spent 50 bucks! Heh.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts