Thread: Tridods?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. #1 Tridods? 
    For mobile EFP/ENG I've had great luck with Vinten and Sachtler over the years. What will you be using?

What are your favorite heads?

What are your favorite sticks?

Models?

For what type of EFP/ENG?

One tripood or 2-tripod approach?

Spreaders: floor-level, mid-level, or none?

Tripod care and maintenance for various environments?
    Executive Producer, Director, DP, Cinematographer
    Red pioneer: RED One 0008, Red One "London", Red One "Hollywood", Epic M 0008, Epic X (2)
    Golden Gate 3D - www.gg3d.com

Co-Producer, IMAX film CUBA - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ijvjeZ89qY
    Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/stevegibby/

Hi Gibby,

I've been using a Vinten Pro 5 with a spreader for the past two years or so. It's been fine for the PD170 small style of ENG camera. I did hire an O'Connor when I went up to Yosemite a while back - that had a really nice fluid head and some spring mechanism on the front to keep everything balanced especially while you tilt. It was also a heavier duty tripod all round. Apparently it cost around $10,000 - but that seems a lot of money for tripod - I'm not sure?? I've hired Sachtler in the past which were especially good when you have to work around seating in side auditoriums with no where to put a camera. I wasn't that impressed with the heads on them though.

My cine friend has a really old fashioned black anodised three way head which I forget the name of but I want to use that with the RED ONE. It has these 3 levers that let you control the fluid resistance in all three dimensions and it's silky smooth. It weighs in at about 100lbs and was made to take the really heavy weigth cameras of yester year so you can't really ship it by air. It's a real museum piece and looks like it was made by Rolls Royce but I think on the right legs I can some great shots with it!

All the best, Phil